spacehost.blogg.se

Cliffs of dover guitar music
Cliffs of dover guitar music













cliffs of dover guitar music

“And wouldn’t you know it – that’s the only time I won! It’s kind of funny. I figured, All these other people are better known than me. “I had been nominated a few times before and never won,” he says, “so when ‘Cliffs of Dover’ was nominated, I didn’t go to the show. Johnson took his newfound fame and Grammy nomination in stride. Shane’s work paid off when “Cliffs of Dover” became one of the most-played rock instrumentals of its day, hitting No. He wanted people to hear the song, and he did everything he could to make it a hit.” “They Really Like Me” “They didn’t think the record would do anything.” However, one of the label’s promo men, Jeffrey Shane, loved Ah Via Musicom and thought “Cliffs of Dover” was a single.

cliffs of dover guitar music

“They were like, ‘Whatever,’” he remembers. Johnson was ecstatic with the job mastering engineer Bernie Grundman did on the EQ (“He really got the track to sound perfect”), but he was dismayed at Capitol’s initial reaction. Guitar effects were minimal: “It’s just an Echoplex into a Tube Driver, and that went into a 100-watt Marshall with a 4x12 cabinet.” I played it all the way through with my Strat, but the solo didn’t sound as clear and elegant as I wanted, so I punched in an ES-335 for the main solo You can hear the tone difference, but that’s okay – the spirit is there.” Then it goes back to the Strat for the end.

cliffs of dover guitar music

“In the studio, I tried a few versions until I got something that sounded right.” His band blazed through two or three takes of the track before arriving at a keeper, but Johnson was unhappy with his guitar sound.Īs he explains, “I played it all the way through with my Strat, but the solo didn’t sound as clear and elegant as I wanted, so I punched in an ES-335 for the main solo. “It varied every time I played it live,” he says. I can't not groove to this song, so good. Before the main song, he included a freeform improv section that he had always played live. I discovered Eric Johnson, Steve Vai and Joe Satriani from G3: Live in Concert, but this song wasn't included in the concert, and his inventory of music is tough to find in comparison to the other two, so I was glad a really fucking good song of his came out of Guitar Hero. After signing with Capitol Records in 1989, Johnson decided to finally record “Cliffs of Dover” in a studio.















Cliffs of dover guitar music